index / laser-classes
Laser class labels, read from the FDA and OSHA
The class on a machine's label is the quickest safety fact a buyer can check. Glowforge, for one, sells the Aura as a Class 1 product containing an embedded Class 4 laser.
FDA hazard classes
The FDA says: The higher the class, the more powerful the laser is and the greater the potential to pose serious injury if used improperly.
FDA (CDRH), Laser Products and Instruments, read Nov 5, 2026
| FDA class | IEC class | FDA wording |
|---|---|---|
| I | 1, 1M | Considered non-hazardous. Hazard increases if viewed with optical aids, including magnifiers, binoculars, or telescopes. |
| IIa, II | 2, 2M | Hazard increases when viewed directly for long periods of time. Hazard increases if viewed with optical aids. |
| IIIa | 3R | Depending on power and beam area, can be momentarily hazardous when directly viewed or when staring directly at the beam with an unaided eye. Risk of injury increases when viewed with optical aids. |
| IIIb | 3B | Immediate skin hazard from direct beam and immediate eye hazard when viewed directly. |
| IV | 4 | Immediate skin hazard and eye hazard from exposure to either the direct or reflected beam; may also present a fire hazard. |
The FDA adds that laser products must meet the performance standards in 21 CFR Parts 1010 and 1040, and that no controls are completely effective if lasers are improperly used.
OSHA on Class IV
Class IV : High power lasers (cw: 500 mW, pulsed: 10 J/cm 2 or the diffuse reflection limit) are hazardous to view under any condition (directly or diffusely scattered) and are a potential fire hazard and a skin hazard. Significant controls are required of Class IV laser facilities.
OSHA, OSHA Technical Manual, Section III, Chapter 6: Laser Hazards, read Nov 5, 2026
On eyewear, the same chapter says protective devices shall be used when engineering controls are inadequate to eliminate the possibility of potentially hazardous eye exposure
.
Class labels on the machine sheet
| Machine | Class as published |
|---|---|
| Glowforge Spark | not stated on spec page (UL 62368-1 certification listed) |
| Glowforge Aura | Class 1 laser product containing an embedded Class 4 laser |
| Glowforge Plus / Plus HD | Class 1 |
| Glowforge Pro / Pro HD | Class 4 |
| xTool S1 40W | Class 1 (retailer listing; maker page does not state it for the module) |
| xTool S1 20W | not stated for the module |
| xTool S1 10W | not stated for the module |
| xTool P2S | Class 4 and Class 1 variants |
| xTool P3 | not read |
| Creality Falcon2 Pro 40W | Class 1 (FDA) on maker page |
| Creality Falcon2 Pro 22W | Class 1 (FDA) on maker page |
| OMTech Polar Lite 55W | Class 1 per retailer; maker page does not state it |
Glowforge's Aura listing pairs its Class 1 claim with this line: Exposure to Hazardous laser light (Class 4) may result if misuse occurs.
Glowforge, Craft Series tech specs (Aura, Spark), read Nov 5, 2026